Logan County, ND

Logan County, North Dakota Official Website
Logan County Court House

Welcome to Logan County, North Dakota

Logan County was established January 4, 1873, and organized September 1, 1884 with the town site of Napoleon designated as the county seat.  On January 17, 1899 the court house was technically relocated to King, which had defeated Napoleon for the honors in the 1898 general election, but the results of this election were overturned by the courts, and Napoleon was restored as the county seat on September 30, 1899.

The county was named for General John Alexander Logan, a Civil War veteran from Illinois who served as a Congressman and US Senator, and was the unsuccessful Republican candidate for Vice President in 1884.  The North Dakota county has an area of 1,003 square miles, and reached a peak population of 8,089 in 1930, with a decline to just 2,847 in 1990.  Towns currently populated within the county are Burnstad, Fredonia, Gackle, Lehr, and Napoleon.

Logan County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan
Logan County is currently updating their Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan, and you're invited to review the draft plan: 2017 Logan MHMP Update.pdf

If you have any recommendations and/or a mitigation idea that could reduce the impact of future emergencies or disasters in Logan County, please contact:

Mary Senger

Make a Payment

News and Updates

News update
Posted on 04-24-2017

Are You Prepared Brochure
Posted on 03-29-2017

National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS)
Posted on 03-29-2017

View All News & Updates

Latest From Calendar

Severe Summer Weather Awareness Week
04-24-2017 to 04-28-2017

Severe Winter Weather Awareness Week
10-30-2017 to 11-03-2017

View Calendar


No Results to Display


No Results to Display

Copyright © 2012-2017 Logan County & it's licensors.